Skip to content

Representative Clay Schexnayder Elected to Speaker of the House

Plans for the 2020 legislative session began on Monday, January 13, 2020. 

All members of the house were sworn in and including 45 new members resulting mostly from former representatives being termed out. 

Representatives also voted in their next Speaker of the House.  Both of the top runners for the seat have ties to and represent Livingston Parish. 

Schexnayder won with a 60 to 45 vote, including Democrat votes. 

Local news sources indicate that Democrats are expected to win an increased number of chairmanships in the House in exchange for their support.